Kansas Judicial Council Bulletin

DECEMBER, 1967

PART 4-FORTY-FIRST ANNUAL REPORT

COURT DAYS 1968



Foreword

This issue of the BULLETIN contains a list of court days for 1968 in the various district courts of the state of Kansas.

Both the Kansas Judicial Council and its advisory committee on revision of criminal law have been steadily at work on the project for the past year. The advisory committee on September 1, 1967, concluded its fourth year of work. The Council is in the process of putting its finishing touches on the substantive provisions of the criminal law as recodified. A special BULLETIN should issue early in the year 1968 giving the Bench and Bar sufficient time to study the draft in advance of its submission to the legislature.

The advisory committee on revision of criminal law is at present working on criminal procedure, and in due time a draft of the new law on criminal

procedure will be forthcoming from the Council.

The present members of the advisory committee on criminal law revision are the Honorable Doyle E. White of Arkansas City, chairman and member of the Kansas Judicial Council; E. Lael Alkire, Wichita, vice chairman; Selby S. Soward, Goodland; William M. Ferguson, Wellington; Lee V. Hornbaker, Junction City; George T. Van Bebber, Troy; Charles F. Forsyth, Erie; and Paul E. Wilson, Lawrence, reporter. Past members of the committee who resigned by reason of health are A. K. Stavely and Howard E. Payne. Lester M. Goodell of Topeka served on the committee until his death in 1966. J. Richard Foth, Assistant Attorney General, represents the office of the Attorney General in committee deliberations.

At the request of the legal ethics committee of the State Bar Association, the Council in the year 1965 undertook a study of the procedure in handling grievances for lawyers' violations of the Canons of Legal Ethics and the procedure for disciplinary action to be taken in such cases. The advisory committee appointed to assist the Council in this study consisted of James D. Waugh of Topeka, a member of the Council, as chairman; Charles D. Green, Manhattan; Enos Hook, Wichita; James E. Smith, Topeka; Honorable James J. Noone, Wichita; and Morris D. Hildreth, Coffeyville.

In the month of May, 1967, the Council, after study and consideration of the report of the grievance advisory committee, submitted the report to the Supreme Court for consideration is consisting with a change in its rules.

The Supreme Court has taken the matter under advisement.

During the year 1967 the civil code advisory committee was rejuvenated for the purpose of studying rules in connection with the new code of civil procedure, and making recommendations to the Council for the adoption of new rules by the Supreme Court. As a result of the committee's study several new rules have already been processed through the Judicial Council and submitted to the Supreme Court for adoption.

The members of the civil code advisory committee as presently constituted are the Honorable Alex Hotchkiss of Lyndon, a member of the Kansas Judicial Council, as chairman; Leonard O. Thomas, Kansas City; Emmet A. Blaes, Wichita; Honorable David Prager, Topeka; Marvin E. Thompson, Russell; Morris D. Hildreth, Coffeyville; and the Honorable John F. Fontron, ex officio.

The legislature in its 1967 session referred three additional projects to the Council for study: